S.H.I.E.L.D The Blog division


We’re still alive! by Agent 44
June 20, 2008, 6:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Hello children! Sorry we’ve been gone so long. Man is Marvel Universe awesome or what?! I just can’t get enough of this amazing new set. So after Agent 13 and I cracked all of our packs I threw together a…wait for it…Warbound deck. I realize that pretty much everyone who has seen Hulk wants to build a deck around his awesomeness but we decided to throw one together before all the shenanigans about Hulk began. Well after throwing something together to playtest with the Warbound proceeded to demolish every deck that Agent 13 and I had. What?! It is just ridiculously powerful. Here is a play-by-play of its first match against a BYOT (bring your own team) X-Men deck:

Ok…I win the die roll and choose odds. 13 and I keep our opening hands and draw two. I lay a resource and pass as does 13. Awesome.

me=50 Agent 13=50

Turn 2: 13 lays a resource and sadly passes again. I lay a resource and play the attack happy Miek. With an empty board across the way Miek punches 13 for 4.

me=50 Agent 13=46

Turn 3: I recruit the massive 3 drop Hulk discarding another Hulk 3 drop and 13 recruits a nearly as large Wolverine. Hulk attacks Wolvie with “Now I’m Fighting Dirty” to prevent the stun back and it works. 13 takes 2 breahthrough, 3 stun and 4 additional to the dome from Miek.

me=50 Agent 13=37

Turn 4: 13 Recruits Emma Frost discarding 2 drop Jean Grey. On my build I flip up the Great Arena exhausting my Hulk and his Wolvie and we both take 3 damage in the process. Then I recruit Hulk 4. 13 attempts to attack Hulk with Emma but I play “The STrongest One There Is” stunning my Hulk and KO’ing his Emma.

me=43 Agent 13=34

Turn 5: I top deck Mobilize. Use the Great Arena to lock down his Wolverine exhausting my soon to be replaced 4 drop hulk and we both take 4 because of it. I Mobilize for 5 drop Hulk, playing him with the boost to stun Wolverine and 13 takes 3 more. 13 recruits Psylocke, places her behind the stunned Wolverine and then plays a “Children of the Atom” to recover his Wolverine. After some deliberation I send Miek in to get beat up by Wolverine and then remove him from the game to make Hulk always cause breakthrough. I then send Hulk into Wolverine. 13 activates Psylocke making my Hulk vulnerable so I play a “Righteous Anger” to try again. The second attack is bricked by a timely “Turnabout” and “Duck and Cover”. Wow Wolverine is a dude!

me=32 Agent 13=27

Turn 6: With it being 13’s initiative I was kinda worried about his 3 characters to my one but when he under dropped Iceman I knew the game was mine. I Great Arena’d his Psylocke, smacking us both for five and then played Hulk 6 drop with the boost to make him an 18/18. 13 had no way to stun my ginormous Hulk with just Wolverine and his 4 drop Iceman and when I showed him another Righteous Anger in my hand he scooped.

Crazy huh? And that was a deck we just threw together in about 15 minutes. The power level is insane.

So I decided to take it to our local hobby league this past Wednesday to see how it would do. After a couple of trades netting me playsets of both Righteous Anger and Trouble with Dinosaurs the deck was set and continued to dominate. It lost its very first game to a mirror match against Mr. “I’m-all-Noobish” himself who simply had more Hulk Smashes than I did. In our two subsequent rematches my Great Arena locked down his Hulks and I won both. Then the Green King lost to our good friend from tier2tutor Omar and an awesome Shield build. Man that match made me regret trading him 2 Nick Fury’s. And after defeating a pretty awesome Kree deck the Sakaar’son lost to The Brave and the Blog’s Josh and one heck of a Red Skull deck. Those sneaky Crime Lords squeaked out a victory but I can’t wait for the rematch. Luckily I will get to find out soon since Josh, Omar and I will be meeting tonight before attending the “official” release event for Marvel Universe at Edgeworld in Costa Mesa. Currently the Warbound have won 10 games and lost 3. Far and away the best start of any deck I have ever made with or without net decking. Pretty stoked!

I’m also really stoked about a team that made its debut in Marvel Universe: Alpha Flight. Although I may not be as outspoken (or popular) as some of the others who have demanded this team’s inclusion in our beloved game I am nonetheless a fan of all the team’s incarnations. As stoked as I was to see the team included I was saddened to find that they are a very small and underdeveloped team. Their theme of plot twist abuse is simply amazing however and I immediately began thinking of teams to pair them with. Since I only use the good guy teams my mind quickly stumbled upon the Gotham Knights. This team struck me for two reasons. First Alpha Flight doesn’t have a designated searcher and who doesn’t have 4 copies of the Bat-Signal, one of the best searchers in the game in my humble opinion. And number two who wouldn’t want to get double use out of Bat Got Your Tongue? So with the Hook-up providing both a team-up and a way to pitch extra characters for even more plot twists I threw together a (hopefully) decent deck. So without further ado I present Alpha Flight Knights:

Characters:

4x Alfred Pennyworth

3x Talisman

2x Gypsy

3x Barbara Gordon ^ Oracle

2x Julia Carpenter ^ Arachne

4x John Walker ^ U.S. Agent

3x Sasquatch

2x Weapon Omega

1x Batman, Cape and Cowl

1x Beta Ray Bill

1x Barbara Gordon ^ Oracle

1x Batman, Dark Knight Returned

Total: 27

Plot Twists:

4x Bat Got Your Tongue

4x The Hook-Up

4x Alpha Flight Reborn

4x Bat-Signal

4x Crackshot

4x Straight to the Grave

4x Combat Reflexes

2x Invasion Plans

2x Omega Flight

1x Mobilize

Total: 33

What do you think? I still need a card or two to finish it off and I have yet to playtest it but I am excited. I love everything from Canadia so hopefully their heroes won’t let me down. Thanks for reading my ramblings and until next time, keep on keeping on and buy some Marvel Universe, eh!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

