S.H.I.E.L.D The Blog division


Update: We’re still alive! by Agent 44
September 22, 2008, 2:29 am
Filed under: Hobby League, vs.system

Hey kids sorry we haven’t posted in so long.  This is Agent 44 coming to you from S.H.I.E.L.D. headquarters letting you all know that we’re still alive and kicking.  In fact we have all kinds of vs. knowledge to pass on but most of it stems from me losing.  Either way welcome back to the Blog Division.

            So a little Hobby League update for those interested.  We recently held our tri-city championship for the Brea/Placentia/Fullerton area.  For whatever reason we decided to run the championship as Silver Age even though none of the paper work said to do so.  Anyways on to the participants.  Being the current champion at the time I showed up with a build I am very familiar with and is very solid.  The Brave and the Blog’s Josh has dubbed it the “World’s Finest Ladies” but I prefer the much more vulgar “Super Bat B!tches!”  More on that later…my four challengers included the aforementioned Josh running an Alpha Flight destroying Thunderbolts/Radioactive Man abuse deck; Tier 2 Tutor’s Omar and an infuriating SHIELD burn deck; the Blog divisions Agent 13’s little brother Matt and a surprisingly consistent Fatal Five Future Foes build; and the infamous Pat Yapjoco who always dominates with some janky combination. And thus the tournament began:

            My first game was against Omar and the SHIELD burn craziness.  I curved near perfectly but I had no hidden hate to stop the 3-drop Wolverine from pounding me in the face turn after turn.  Wolvie combined with the burn of the Agents was too much for my ladies to handle. 0-1

            Next up was Agent 13’s little brother Matt.  Matt and his decks have a disturbing tendency to fail in tournament play but not today.  His Fatal Five baddies succeeded in slamming my face even though we made it to 8.  Not a good start.  0-2

            I was hoping to turn my luck around going into game 3 but facing Pat is always tough.  You could take 60 random cards from your collection, give them to Pat and he’d still beat your constructed decks at least 6 times out of 10.  Either way his constructed deck was devastating and the game was a blur.  I managed to stall till 9 but failed to find Superman for my finisher and Galactus gobbled up all my endurance.  Bummer. 0-3

            Last game of the night.  Here I was the former city champion without a single win and I was facing an always tough opponent in Josh and Radioactive Man.  Sadly for Josh Rad Man stayed hidden in his deck and a timely “Flying High” sealed my only win for me.  A rough tournament to say the least but congrats to all of you who pounded my face into the turf.  It’s too bad I can’t use my city champs playmat anymore.  Now I’m sure all of you want a deck list for my under-performing creation so here you go:

 

World’s Finest Ladies (or Super Bat B!tches)

 

4x Maggie Sawyer

4x Huntress, Vicious Vigilante

3x Catwoman, Feline Fatale

2x Natasha Irons ^ Steel, Unlikely Alloy

1x Huntress, Harsh Mistress

4x Power Girl ^Nightwing, Kandorian Vigilante

4x Kara Zor-El^Flamebird, Kandorian Vigilante

4x Dinah Laurel Lance, Cry in the Dark

3x Lady Shiva, Jade Canary

2x Batman, Dark Knight Returned

1x Superman, Bulletproof

 

4x Future Friends

4x Soaring to New Heights

4x Bat-Signal

4x Impervious

4x No Retreat, No Surrender

4x The Hook-Up

1x For the Man Who Has Everything

 

3x City of Tomorrow

 

This is the basic skeleton of the deck I used.  I originally created it for my girlfriend who wanted to play with a “girly” deck.  With the World’s Finest set being my favorite I figured I could easily through this concoction together.  The deck is not too complicated making it great for beginners but is still powerful enough to win a few games.  There are also many cards that can be switched out to make the deck more competitive and complex.  For the city champs I took out the “Future Friends” and “Soaring…” and put in 4 “Bat Got Your Tongues”, 2 “Have a Blasts”, and 2 “Flying Highs.”  These additions were simple and effective despite my losses.  Either way I hope this deck gives you some ideas when trying to throw a little theme into your deck building time.

               Either way, thanks for reading and good luck in all the tournaments unless of course you’re playing me.  Coming up soon:  my quest to find my best clone saga build.  Here’s a hint: (hopefully)

           

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

